I’m a Follower

Good morning, good morning!

Man do I wish the Patriots had won yesterday.  😦

Today, for a potentially slow moving Monday for all of us football fans…and those who just love the Sunday that is the Superbowl party…I have an easy little Valentine’s Day project.

But first, for all of the bloggers…and anyone who likes to follow blogs and keep them all organized in one spot, a little word about the new Linky Follow tool that you’ll see top and right in the, well, top of my right sidebar.  🙂

I didn’t necessarily fully understand this when I jumped in the pool of blogs, but blogging is a game of numbers.

Here I thought it was game of eloquent writing, well edited photos and thoughtful topics – whatever the focus of your blog.  Believe you me, it for sure is all of these things…plus the numbers.

Before I had a blog I would read bloggers talking about different conferences they attended with seminar topics specifically about not measuring your success in numbers.  I didn’t really think too much about it pre-the space between.

But now that I am IN the space between, literally, I get it.

I started a blog because I thought it might be fun to keep a chronicle of all of the things we do in the spaces we find ourselves in.  When I think back to all of the homes we’ve had and upgrades we’ve made and projects we’ve learned how to do along the way, I’m down right bummed out that many of those things live only in memory. Memory can be so fleeting.  :/

And the response to this here blog, my friends, has been phenomenal.  I didn’t know I would get so excited when I got a new comment, or a new follower, or repin on Pinterest.

Seriously?!?  You like what you see enough to want to get a notification when I do something else (or are a blogger who knows about the numbers)?  How cool is that for this gal?  Wicked fricken’ cool I tell you!

So, when a couple of blogs announced the new Linky Follower tool I jumped right on board.  It’s easy to get signed up and totally free.

How fun to be a part of something from the very first day it was announced to the whole world. Roeshel and Cheri posted all about how to get started and are also hosting a month long Giveaway Bonanza to kick start the new tool.

If you feel so inclined, it would be super cool if you would click to follow me on the new Linky Tool…and be sure to let me know you did because I would like to follow you back.


Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers…

Now, back to my lazy Monday Valentine’s Day heart idea.

Did I mention she’s FREE?  I always have that exact change in my wallet.  😉

See her snuck in the new gallery wall there?  You may recall the faux zinc letter B was there for the reveal, or maybe not, whatever. 🙂

I thought a little pop of holiday, and color, would be fun to switch in that spot throughout the year.

For all of the deets on how to make this beauty you have to head over to A Content Housewife where I’m guest posting today, while Lianne is busy moving to Charleston. Hope it’s going well Lianne!

If you missed the nitty gritty details on how this whole wall is hanging from one screw please click here.

To hang the heart, I just hot glued a length of ribbon scrap to the back and duct taped it behind the framed stencils.

To me she’s just the right amount of Valentine’s Day in our otherwise neutral colored wall.
The whole deal took about 3 hours…perfect for a lazy evening.

I happened to be watching the collapse of Kyle Stanley at Torrey Pines.  The poor guy had a 4 stroke lead on the tee at 18…and then nothing went right and he lost the tournament in a playoff.

I would gander to say my afternoon went better than his.  Sorry Kyle!

Now, don’t forget to drop in on Lianne to see some more pics and how I made the rosettes.

And, if you haven’t yet, you can click right here to get signed up to follow me in the new linky tool.

And then, have a fabulous Monday.

Oh, and I’ll be back tomorrow with the announcement of the giveaway winner and my features from the Imagine the Impossibilities Link Party…I am having a seriously hard time narrowing it down…

I am sharing this project here and at:
BNOTP, Home Stories A to Z, Savvy Southern StyleRemodelaholic, and Sugar Bee Crafts.

Leave a comment

37 Comments

  1. Hello karah….I am already a follower! I love that Valentine’s heart idea. Thank you so much for sharing such a clever idea…..and I really like the pop of red on your wall! I am off to check out your guest post!

    blessings,
    karianne

    Reply
  2. Your heart is lovely! I would love to know how to do that.
    I will click on your new Linky follower button as soon as I post this.
    Have a great day.
    Hugs, Cindy

    Reply
  3. I find the numbers game to be so interesting. There are a lot of bloggers out there that I think are very strictly focused on the quantity vs. quality of their followers/readers…the ones that follow every blog they ever click over to but might only read about 1/3 of them. There is absolutely nothing wrong with that and so many blogs have become really big that way. I see mine as more of a slow climb where people come and get interested and are wonderful enough to follow. So funny this blog world.

    Reply
  4. I blogged about followers today, too. It is big on our minds since Google made their announcement. Life would be so much simpler if things didn’t change, but…it might become boring, too. So, I try to go with the flow. I am following you on Linky now. Happy to do it! See you on mine, I hope!
    Hugs, GraceinAZ

    Reply
  5. That heart looks so cute! Definitely off to read your guest post! 🙂

    Reply
  6. Love the heart! It really looks great in the space!

    Reply
  7. I heart that heart!! Shame about the Pats – but I won’t rub it in (much)!! You know I follow you in every way possible (that sounds wrong – but it’s really not)!
    Kelly

    Reply
  8. The red does and more “pop” to the wall. It’s nice to be able to interchange different pieces for different occasions and holidays.

    Reply
  9. I just hooked up with your linky follow…hope you can stop by my blog and if you like what you see, maybe follow me back and we can share great ideas and inspiration!!
    Thanks!!

    Reply
  10. The heart is cute! Great addition =)

    Reply
  11. I went and checked out your heart tutorial. Love that pop of red on the infamous one screw gallery wall!

    Linda

    Reply
  12. I can’t imagine not at least occasionally checking your numbers… If nothing else than for curiosities sake. I love to see where people around the world come visit from.

    Very neat heart, btw. I wonder if you could make looser ones that look like poppies. The red, for some reason, put me in the thoughts of my favorite flower (poppies), not that the rosettes don’t look great!

    Reply
  13. That heart is beautiful and would add a pop of color anywhere! I feel the same way about blogging! Started out as something entirely different than what it has turned into….but isn’t it a lovely ride?! Thanks for sharing your thoughts and your beautiful red heart. I’m following you with Linky now.

    Reply
  14. I absolutely adore this heart! I am following you now with Linky!

    Jessica @ Mom 4 Real
    http://mom4realky.blogspot.com

    Reply
  15. I love your heart! The idea of just one screw/nail is amazing! I’m following on Linky Follower and by email.

    Reply
  16. Great Gallery! Love the idea of having a spot for each holiday.

    Reply
  17. Love the addition of the wreath for the holiday!

    Reply
  18. This is such a great idea!

    ~Mrs. Delightful
    ourdelightfulhome.blogspot.com

    Reply
  19. That turned out so cute. What a fun idea!

    Reply
  20. What a cute wreath. Very simple & beautiful! I’m following you by email 🙂

    Reply
  21. Beautiful wreath, you are so talented.

    Reply
  22. Very nice wreath and wall! I hope you will link it up to my Show It Off Thursdays party at:

    http://ornamentplace.com/?p=2127

    Reply
  23. I love it all! Especially the fact that you change bits of it from time to time. The wreath is awesome and it does offer a nice pop of color. But I liked it unpainted as well.

    Reply
  24. Gorgeous heart! I was wondering the other day when it would cease to be exciting to have a new follower, pin, comment…I think the answer is a happy: Never :0)

    Thanks so much for taking part in our Pin’Inspiration Party. Hope that you are having as much fun exploring as I am and that you’ll take part in helping the “Beat the Winter Blues” on Saturday.

    Reply
  25. Beautiful! Thanks for linking up at From Scratch Friday! Come back next week 🙂

    ~Christina
    http://marriagefromscratch.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  26. This heart rosette wreath is so cute! I love that it is made from book pages too.

    Reply
  27. Really nice! It does look great! The one bit of bright color really stands out.

    #12 Lisa’s Linky
    buggalcrafts

    Reply
  28. I love this! We just posted our very first Kitchen Fun and Crafty Friday Link Party and we would LOVE for you to stop by and link this up! http://kitchenfunwithmy3sons.blogspot.com/2012/02/kitchen-fun-and-crafty-friday-link.html

    Reply
  29. Love that heart wreath – paper flowers are so much fun! New linky follower 🙂

    Reply
  30. That wreath is lovely! Would love for you to stop by and link up to the Tuesday To Do Party (if you haven’t already.) Also, the Pretty Packages Party is going on & I would love for you to share any creative gifts, packages or party favor ideas!

    http://blackberryvine.blogspot.com/2012/02/tuesday-to-do-part-49-and-48-list.html

    http://blackberryvine.blogspot.com/2012/02/pretty-packages-party-12.html

    Smiles!
    Jami

    Reply
  31. Just wanted to let you know that I featured this today from the Show & Share party. Thanks for linking up!

    http://southernlovely.blogspot.com/2012/02/show-share-26-features.html

    Reply
  32. Following you! XO, Aimee

    Reply
  33. Love your wreath! Just beautiful! Thank you so much for sharing at Taking A Timeout Thursday! Hope you had a wonderful Valentine’s Day!

    Reply
  34. I’m a new LF follower! I’m sorry it’s taken me this long to come and THANK YOU for linking up at Drab to Fab last Friday! I hope you’ll come back in about 3.5 days and share more of your great posts (old or new). Have a great week!

    Amy @ Sugar and Spice

    Reply
  35. I’m featuring this tomorrow in the Drab to Fab party at Sugar and Spice!

    Reply
  1. Who Doesn’t Love Love? « the space between
  2. Happy New Year!!! (and a few announcements) « the space between

Leave a Reply

