Wedding #1 Memento Part 2

Happy Day after Valentine’s Day.  Hopefully everyone is feeling incredibly loved.  It seems appropriate to finish up my wedding memento during this week of love.

So, where did we leave off?  Like a month ago…geez, sorry!

Ah yes, with this beauty.

I had a box that, size-wise, was going to work great to just set my newly made frame (check out part 1 of this memento to get caught up on how we got from California to married and then from Curacao to a little driftwood frame), trace the inside edge and cut.
Really, I couldn’t even at least get my pen tip on my already traced line so it would kind of look like an action shot?  Guess not. 🙂
As you can see, my cutting wasn’t perfect.  But, my plan was to wrap the cardboard with the brown napkin so it didn’t really matter.  I only had to make sure that the cardboard wrapped in napkin was 1) big enough that there were no “air gaps”, meaning that there were no spots I could see in between the frame and the napkin to what was behind it and 2) small enough that it could be wedged in and cover all of the shims so only the driftwood part of the frame could be seen from the front.

It was just a process of trial and error really.

I also decided I didn’t need to cut the napkin.  I just wrapped the cardboard and used some pins to pin it tight on the back side.
I did play around with ways I could layer the veil so I wouldn’t have to cut it, but I liked the look of only one layer of the tulle so I ended up cutting a piece that I could then just pull tight and pin to the napkin and cardboard.

I had these ribbons in my stash.
The cream colored ribbon I used to wrap my bouquet (read: three hydrangea blossoms I cut that day from a bush in the front yard of our house) of hydrangeas together and the green ribbon we strung our rings on for our youngest nephew to carry as ring bearer.

Truth be told, the ring bearer action…including the green ribbon…only happened at wedding #2, but I’m including it anyway.  Because…I had this idea to make it kind of like a charm necklace.
The charms include a very inexpensive, but very sentimental, ring.  One Joel had given me almost 9 years previously and that I had worn on my left index finger everyday since…I’m not really a switch up my jewelry sort of gal….clearly.  :/

I also cut out a pair of champagne glasses from one of the cards we received.  And I made a little “pendant” out of my wedding dress tag…which I happened to buy at Anthropologie.

And there just so happened to be the perfect rusty nail in the driftwood frame I could tie my charm ribbon to.
The cream ribbon was long enough that I could just use it as sort of a boarder, just folding it over at the corners and hot gluing…
Please excuse the dog hair stuck to the glue gun.  🙂

I then used the same embellished pins I used to hold my bouquet together on wedding day to add one more fun corner detail.
I cut out meaningful parts of each of the cards we received that day and randomly glued them on top of the ribbon.

If you don’t know, or remember, why we only got 4 cards at wedding #1, here’s the refresher.

And then, I made what I think is a cute little “framed” picture…other than that stupid house right between our heads.  🙂
I just cut off a couple corners of one of the cards we received, squared them off, and then cut a square to size from the lining (Yes, it was one of those fancy shmancy cards with a lining layer!  We have fancy shmancy friends.), glued it on the bigger square and then just hand cut the picture of us with rounded corners to fit.

It looked a little like this.
And this.  🙂
What can I say, I’m much more of a trial and error sort of gal.  Measure-and-do-it-right-the-first-time is highly overrated.  😉

All in all, I’m left with another FREE and uber-meaningful addition to our gallery wall.
She fits in so well right below one of my favorite pics from wedding #1.

Here she is all together and up close.
What do you think?  Did you do anything fun with your wedding cards?  We still have wedding #2 cards…so I’m in need of ideas.

Have you ever made a frame out of driftwood?  If you want some tips, check here.

If you did happen to do anything fun with your little wedding mementos I’d love to see it. Feel free to post it on my Facebook page.  🙂

And, have you gotten signed up on the new Linky Follower tool? If so and want to follow me please let me know you did in the comments so I can follow you back.

Click here to follow this blog and view my other followers…

I am sharing this project here and at:
BNOTP, Home Stories A to Z, Savvy Southern Style, Remodelaholic, and Sugar Bee Crafts.

Leave a comment

23 Comments

  1. This is perfect because you can enjoy it up front; it is so meaninful and you have created artwork. My cards are stashed away in the attic!

    Reply
  2. Love this! I have a box of wedding & honeymoon momentos that I’ve been meaning to do something with for ages. Your display is so pretty! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  3. What a wonderful idea! I’ve been married so long now I don’t even think I have any cards hanging around anymore … or they’re buried somewhere in the basement.

    Linda

    Reply
  4. So sweet! You got married on 7/8/09? Besides being super clever, it’s a month exactly before we got married! I knew there was a serendipitous reason I found your blog 🙂

    Reply
  5. Very cool, and very sweet. You did a great job, and you’ll always have such a neat way to remember your big day!

    Reply
  6. That is such a great idea! I’ve been wondering what to do with our wedding cards!

    Reply
  7. I love it – now every time you are having a disagreement with the hubs (which probably never happens!), sit under this and he’ll have to see it above your head and then he’ll think back on that magical wedding day (I mean 2 wedding days!) and bow and kiss your feet with adoration!

    Hydrangeas are one of my faves – love that you just plucked them from the garden for your bouquet.
    Kelly

    Reply
  8. What a wonderful idea 🙂
    Love for you to join in my linky party on Wednesdays if you get a chance 🙂

    http://www.jaqsstudio.com/2012/02/made-by-me-18-linky-party-and-features.html

    -Q

    Reply
  9. Awww. Karah….I didn’t realize you are almost newlyweds! What a wonderful momento and way to display memories of a wonderful day. You have truly blessed me 🙂

    Have a wonderful day.
    karianne

    Reply
  10. I’m in love with your driftwood frame. Since we don’t exactly have wood drifitng up onto the shores here in Chicago…I think I need to keep my eyes open the next time we camp at the Dunes.

    ~ Dana

    Reply
  11. Such a unique way to display mementos!!

    Come check out my blog too 🙂
    thediydreamer.blogspot.com

    Reply
  12. What a fantastic idea!! This would be a great 1st anniversary gift for my sister 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing at my party!

    Reply
  13. Ooh, I love the idea of framing some mementos. It’s beautiful!

    Reply
  14. So sweet – what a simple and meaningful idea. Thanks for linking up!

    Reply
  15. I love the gorgeous driftwood frame! And all the mementos you used inside are so sweet. It looks great up on your gallery wall. I just made some wedding art too- finally! My wedding was almost 9 years ago! Check it out when you get a chance: http://inside-outdesign.blogspot.com/2012/02/displaying-my-wedding-veil.html

    Reply
  16. What a beautiful display! Thank you so much for sharing at Taking A Timeout Thursday!

    Reply
  17. Aww….SO sweet! I love all the details!! You really have a great way of putting things together!

    Reply
  18. Thanks for linking up at DIY Thrifty Thursday! You’ve been featured on http://www.thrifty101.blogspot.com Hope to see you again this week! Stop buy and grab an “I was featured button.

    Reply
  19. Stopping by from the Girl Creative Blog Hop! http://queenofsavings.com

    Reply
  1. The One Screw Gallery Wall is HERE! « the space between
  2. the month in minutes – february 2012 « the space between

Leave a comment